Population: 33,064

Juneau is located on Gastineau Channel in Southeast Alaska, and is accessible only by boat or plane. Juneau is 2 hours from Seattle by air; 1-1/2 hours from Anchorage by air; it is on the mainline ferry schedule for the Alaska Marine Highway System and has regularly scheduled trips to Haines and Skagway.

Visitor Information: Juneau Convention & Visitors Bureau, 101 Egan Dr., phone (907) 586-2201 or 888-586-2201; email.

In 1880, prospectors named Joe Juneau and Dick Harris, guided by Tlingit Chief Kowee, found gold in a local creek. Juneau quickly boomed into a gold rush town as claims and mines sprang up in the area, including the biggest—Treadwell and the Alaska–Juneau (A–J) mines. In 1900, Alaska’s capital was moved from Sitka to Juneau. Today, Juneau’s skyline is dominated by several government buildings, including the Federal Building (1962), the massive State Office Building (1974), the State Court Building (1975) and the older brick and marble-columned Capitol Building (1931).

Juneau, nestled at the foot of Mount Juneau, is often called “a little San Francisco.” The residential community of Douglas, on Douglas Island, is south of Juneau and connected by a bridge. Neighboring residential areas around the airport, Mendenhall Valley and Auke Bay lie north of Juneau on the mainland.

Juneau has lodging options that include hotels and motels, bed and breakfasts and an international hostel and offers a wide variety of dining spots and plenty of shopping. Watch for sidewalk food vendors downtown in summer.

Juneau also has 2 craft breweries. The Alaskan Brewing Company is located at 5429 Shaune Dr. and second brewery, Barnaby Brewing, is located at 206 N. Franklin St.

There are full-service campsites at the Glacier Nalu Campground Resort and there are 2 USFS campgrounds north of Juneau accessible from the Glacier Highway/Juneau Veterans’ Memorial Highway: Mendenhall Lake Campground and Auke Village Campground.


  • Take a walking tour of Juneau; maps available at the Visitor Center.
  • Take the Goldbelt Mount Roberts Tramway, one of Juneau’s top attractions, to the 1,800-foot level of Mount Roberts. Observation platform with panoramic view of the city, harbor and surrounding mountains. The mountaintop complex includes a theater, restaurant, bar, gift shop, and access to alpine walking trails.
  • Stop by the Alaskan Brewing Company, famous for its flagship beer, Alaskan Amber, and other award-winning brews throughout Alaska and West Coast. Its retail store is downtown at the Alaska Brewing Depot and offers clothing and gourmet items.
  • Visit Juneau’s must-see attraction—Tracy Arm—a spectacularly scenic fjord located 50 miles southeast of the city. Cruise tours offer an up-close look at mountains, wildlife, icebergs and tidewater glaciers. Go to Adventure Bound Alaska for information and reservations.
  • Juneau–Douglas City Museum exhibits history and culture of the Juneau-Douglas area. For museum hours and admission fees, visit www.juneau.org/library/museum or phone (907) 586-3572. The City Museum is a Blue Star Museum: No admission charge for active-duty military and their families. 
  • Alaska State Museum has been a major cultural highlight of Juneau for more than 100 years. Located in the Father Andrew P. Kashevaroff Building at 395 Whittier St., along with the Alaska State Library and Alaska State Archives, it features superbly curated exhibits on Native culture, maritime history, WWII, Russian America and more. Open daily May through September, and Tuesday–Saturday during the winter.
  • St. Nicholas Orthodox Church, a tiny structure built in 1894, is now the oldest original Russian Orthodox church in southeast Alaska.
  • Visit the DIPAC’s Macaulay Salmon Hatchery and visitor center that features more than 100 different local marine species in touch tanks and saltwater aquariums. Open daily in summer, by appointment in the winter.  Located at 2697 Channel Dr., about 4 miles from downtown.
  • Visit the historic home of Alaska’s Judge James Wickersham, first judge of the Third Judicial District of Alaska.
  • Tour the Governor’s Mansion, home to Alaska’s chief executives since it was completed in 1913.
  • Glacier Gardens Rainforest Adventure is a popular attraction in Juneau. What was once a landslide-scarred hillside has been transformed into a fantastic garden featuring hundreds of plants.
  • Mendenhall Glacier Visitor Center is located about 13 miles from downtown Juneau. See spectacular Mendenhall Glacier, explore short trails to a salmon stream and out to Nugget falls, join a guided hike, or tour the visitor center.